CAADRIA Home CAADRIA Organisation Action Manuals Paper Submission
Related Organisations CAADRIA Conferences Contact CAADRIA Announcements
CAADRIA. The Association for Computer-Aided Architectural Design Research in Asia
CAADRIA Awards: Sasada Award Recipients

The Sasada Award honors the late Prof. Tsuyoshi Sasada (1941-2005), formerly Professor of Osaka University, and co-founder and Fellow of CAADRIA. It is given to someone who has contributed to the next generation of researchers and academics, to the wider profession and practice in computer-aided design and research, and earned recognition in the peer community. The recipient spends a week in residence at Osaka University.

2014. Prof. Mary Lou Maher
Prof. Mary Lou Maher is Professor and Chair Department of Software and Information Systems, Director Center for Education Innovation College of Computing and Informatics University of North Carolina Charlotte, and Honorary Professor of Design Computing Design Lab Faculty of Architecture, Design, and Planning The University of Sydney.

2012. Prof. Mark Burry
Prof. Mark Burry is Professor of Innovation (Spatial Information Architecture) and Director of the Spatial Information Architecture Laboratory (SIAL), RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia. He is the author of "Gaudi' Unseen", "Sagrada Fami'lia XXI. Gaudi' ara / ahora / now", and, with Jane Burry, "The New Mathematics of Architecture".

2010. Prof. Julio Bermudez

2009. Prof. Andre Brown

2008. Prof. Robert Woodbury
This year's Sasada Award winner has sustained an exceptional record of excellence as a teacher and a researcher in the field of computer aided design. At universities in Australia, Canada and the United States he has mentored the next generation of researchers in this field; he is internationally recognized for his research and teaching in the field of parametric modeling and generative components; and he has earned the recognition of his peers not just in Canada but throughout the world through his dedication and commitment to community building.
Further, he is also the Scientific Director of the national Design Research Network which is a coalition of academic institutions, government agencies and industrial partners that is addressing critical design issues and particularly advanced design technologies. Through its network of over 100 researchers and close to 1000 graduate students at post-secondary institutions from across the country, the CDRN is investigating issues such as visual analytics, parametric modeling, digital fabrication and computational design. Under his direction the network has held 17 workshops, seminars and conferences with over to 2200 participants, published three books, two conference proceedings, a special issue of Canadian Architect, and a report on Design as an Instrument of Public Policy in Singapore and South Korea among other contributions.
It is my personal delight and privilege on behalf CAADRIA to announce and invite this year's Sasada Award winner Prof. Robert Woodbury.

2007. Prof Mao-Lin CHIU

More about CAADRIA Awards, here